Sungai Bakap

By-Election 2024

What You Need to Know

The Sungai Bakap by-election was held on July 6, 2024 following the passing of its incumbent, Nor Zamri Latiff on May 24.

Nor Zamri, 54, passed away while receiving treatment at Hospital Seberang Jaya’s Intensive Care Unit for an inflammation of the stomach.

According to the Election Commission (EC), no early voting was carried out as all of the early voters had applied for postal voting.

The 14-day campaign period ran from June 22 to 11.59pm on July 5. This is the eighth by-election held after the 15th General Election in 2022.

The EC had previously stated that this by-election will see a total of 39,279 voters. The figure is further broken down as below:

The Candidates

Incumbent Nor Zamri Latiff defeated Pakatan Harapan (PH) candidate Nurhidayah Che Rose in the state elections last August by securing a majority of 1,563 votes.

The seat was previously held by PH since 2008 for three terms before it was lost to PAS in the 2023 state elections.

Sungai Bakap is the only one of the three state seats under the Nibong Tebal parliamentary constituency held by the opposition. The other two seats, Jawi and Sungai Acheh, are held by the unity government. The parliament seat is also held by the unity government, with Minister of Education, Fadhlina Sidek, serving as Member of Parliament from 2022.

Abidin Ismail

(Age: 56)


Dr Joohari Ariffin

(Age: 60)


Polling Day

A total of 63.45 percent out of 39,279 people casted their votes across nine polling centres.

The breakdown of the data is courtesy of Tindak Malaysia and was obtained here.